Stories for

Afghan parliament sacks five ministers

The Afghan Parliament has dismissed five ministers over the weekend leaving just the Finance Minister Eklil Hakimi unscathed. Parliament was, apparently, unsatisfied with the briefings given by the ministers concerning […]

Afghanistan has new Interior Minister and Attorney General

The Afghan parliament has approved nominees for the post of Minister of Interior and Attorney General. The new Minister of Interior will be Gen. Taj Mohammad Jahid and the new […]

Parliamentary 2016

An election to the Wlosi Jerga (Lower House) has been announced for 15 October 2016. Results will be published here.

General election set for 15th October

Afghanistan’s Independent Election Commission (IEC) has announced that parliamentary and district council elections will take place on 15th October. The original term of the parliament ended last June but its […]

Defence nominee withdraws

President Ashraf Ghani received a further setback in his efforts to form a government this week when his nominee for Defence Minister withdrew his name. The President was elected in […]

Nine names accepted by Parliament whilst eleven are rejected

President Mohammad Ashraf Ghani has announced that he will submit new names for a tranche of Cabinet minister nominees who have been rejected by Parliament. So far nine names have […]

Cabinet of Afghanistan

Ghulam Jilani Popal Minister of Finance Ahmad Seyar Majhoor Minister of Justice Gul Zalmai Younusi Minister of Education Najeeba Ayubi Minister of Women’s Affairs Dr. Abbas Minister of Public Works […]

Full list of new Cabinet

President Ashraf Ghani has named his new Cabinet some six months after the 14th June 2014 Presidential election. The election was disputed and eventually Ashraf Ghani along with his second […]

Ashraf Ghani sworn in as President

Dr. Ashraf Ghani Ahmadzai has been sworn in as the new President of Afghanistan with Dr. Abdullah Abdullah taking the oath as the new Chief Executive Officer. The First and […]

Ashraf Ghani confirmed President as deal is struck with Abdullah Abdullah

The Independent Election Commission (IEC) announced yesterday afternoon that Dr. Ashraf Ghani Ahmadzai had been elected President. There was, however, no announcement as to the number of votes received by […]

8 am

In Persian (for Google Translate purposes)