Stories for

Patrice Talon sworn in announces new Cabinet

Benin’s new President, Patrice Talon sworn in announces new Cabinet, has been sworn in to office and has appointed a 21 member government including three women and seven former ministers. […]

Cabinet of Benin

Pascal Irénée Koupaki Minister of State, Secretary General at the Presidency of the Republic Abdoulaye Bio Tchane Minister of State for Planning and Development Joseph Djogbenou Minister of Justice and […]

Patrice Talon elected President of Benin

Emmanuel Tiando, President of the Autonomous National Electoral Commission (CENA), confirmed last night that Independent candidate Patrice Talon had won the second round runoff of the presidential election. Talon took […]

Presidential 2016

The election took place in two rounds. In the first round on 6 March 2016, results were as follows: Lionel Zinsou-Derlin (Cowry Forces for an Emerging Benin) 28.44% Patrice Talon (Independent) […]

Patrice Talon takes on Lionel Zinsou in Presidential election second round

Benin is voting today in the second round runoff in its presidential election. Incumbent President Thomas Boni Yayi has served two full five-year terms and is not entitled to stand […]

PM Lionel Zinsou faces Patrice Talon in Presidential runoff

Benin’s Independent National Electoral Commission (CENA) has announced that the presidential election will go to a second round runoff to be held on 20th March. Prime Minister Lionel Zinsou of […]

Benin presidential election expected to go to second round

Counting for Benin’s presidential election has started after voting took place yesterday (Sunday). Around 4.7 million were entitled to vote at 13,664 polling stations for a record 33 candidates. Polling […]

President appoints PM and new Cabinet

President Thomas Boni Yayi has named Lionel Zinsou as his new Prime Minister to head a 28 member government. The move comes after the general election on 26th April when […]

Minister resigns over water fraud

Barthélémy Kassa, the Minister of Energy, Mining Research, Oil, Water and Renewable Energy Development, has resigned his portfolio over allegations of fraud in drinking water projects. Last week the Netherland’s […]

Ruling party loses majority in General Election

It looks as though the ruling Cowry Forces for an Emerging Benin (FCBE) of President Yayi Boni has lost its majority in the National Assembly following last Sunday’s (26th April) […]

Parliamentary 2015

An election took place on 26 April 2015. Cowry Forces for an Emerging Benin–Amana Alliance 33 Union Makes the Nation 13 Democratic Renewal Party 10 National Alliance for Development and […]

Benin elects a new National Assembly

A total of 4,475,595 eligible voters will be voting in the Beninese parliamentary election at 7,908 polling centres which will open at 6 a.m. local time, to choose 83 members […]