Stories for

President Morales makes changes to his ministries

President Evo Morales has carried out a major reshuffle of his Cabinet, appointing ten new ministers and splitting the energy ministry from the hydrocarbons ministry. He has also removed the […]

Cabinet of Bolivia

Fernando Huanacuni Mamani Minister of Foreign Affairs René Martínez Callahuanca Minister of the Presidency Carlos Romero Bonifaz Minister of Government Reymy Luis Ferreira Justiniano Minister of Defence Mariana Prado Noya […]

Bolivians appear to vote No to presidential term extension

Bolivia’s Supreme Electoral Tribunal (TSE) has confirmed that first results in Sunday’s constitutional referendum show that the no vote has won. The referendum was held to decide if Article 168 […]

New Interior Minister

President Evo Morales has named Carlos Romero as his new Minister of the Interior. The move came about after Hugo Moldiz announced his resignation from the portfolio on Tuesday. Moldiz […]

Reymi Ferreira is new Defence Minister

Bolivian President Evo Morales has sacked his Defence Minister and apologised to the people of Chile over a stunt which was considered to be in poor taste. The Defence Minister, […]

Morales reveals new Cabinet

Following his inauguration for a third term President Evo Morales has named his new Cabinet. Eight former Ministers have retained their portfolios and 13 new Ministers are entering the Cabinet […]

Evo Morales wins third term

President Evo Morales has won his third Presidential election in a row. Although the final results have yet to be announced a series of unofficial counts, exit polls and other […]

Parliamentary 2014

Election to the National Assembly took place on 12 October 2014. Senate Movement for Socialism (Movimiento al Socialismo-Instrumento Político por la Soberanía de los Pueblos, MAS-IPSP) 25 Democratic Unity Coalition (Concertación […]

Presidential 2014

An election took place on 12 October 2014. Evo Morales (Movement for Socialism) 61.36% Samuel Doria Medina (Democrat Unity) 24.23% Jorge Quiroga (Christian Democratic Party) 9.04% Juan del Granadon (Movement […]

Morales and MAS expect comfortable win in general election today

A total of 6,245,959 eligible voters will be heading for the polls in Bolivia today to vote for a President and Vice-President, the 130 members of the Chamber of Deputies […]