Stories for

Cabinet of Equatorial Guinea

Francisco Pascual Obama Asue Prime Minister Clemente Engonga Nguema Onguene First Deputy Minister of the Government, in Charge of Political Democracy and Minister of Interior and Local Corporations Ángel Mesie […]

President completes government appointments

President Teodoro Obiang Nguema has completed the formation of his government with a decree announcing 31 additional members of his Cabinet. The full list of the Cabinet names as published […]

President Teodoro Obiang Nguema starts Cabinet building

President Teodoro Obiang Nguema has promoted his son Teodoro Nguema Obiang Mangue to the position of Vice President in charge of Defence and State Security. The announcement was made on […]

President wins a sixth term

President Teodoro Obiang Nguema has won last Sunday’s general election taking an unbelievable 99.2% of the vote, making this his sixth term in office. Obiang has ruled the country since […]

Equatorial Guinea votes in Presidential Election

The 323,954 eligible voters in today’s presidential election in Equatorial Guinea will be voting at 1,357 polling stations. They will have a choice of seven candidates, although President Teodoro Obiang […]

Presidential 2016

An election took place on 24 April 2016. Teodoro Obiang Nguema Mbasogo (Democratic Party of Equatorial Guinea) 93.53% Avelino Mocache Mehenga (Centre-Right Union) 1.57% Buenaventura Monsuy Asumu (Party of the […]

IMF 2015 Article IV Consultation with Equatorial Guinea

IMF Executive Board Concludes 2015 Article IV Consultation with the Republic of Equatorial Guinea Press Release No. 15/351 July 23, 2015 On July 20, 2015, the Executive Board of the […]

President reshuffles Cabinet

President Teodoro Obiang Nguema Mbasogo has carried out a reshuffle of his Cabinet. The new Cabinet will have 25 ministers. The full list of the new Cabinet as published on […]

Unwelcoming business climate deters investors

An International Monetary Fund (IMF) mission has concluded an Article IV mission to Equatorial Guinea. The mission noted that “reducing poverty and generating sustained productive private sector activity remain urgent […]

Appointment of new government

Equatorial Guinea’s president, Teodor Obiang Nguema, has announced a cabinet reshuffle and promoted his son to Vice President of National Defence and State Security. Teodoro Nguema Obiang Mangue, known as ‘Teodorin’, […]

A yes vote is announced

The AFP news agency is reporting that minister and government spokesman Jeronimo Osa Osa Ecoro has announced that with 60% of the ballots counted in Sunday’s referendum that 99.04% voted […]

Referendum underway

Voters in Equatorial Guinea are voting today in a constitutional referendum to make changes to the presidential term of office and create the position of vice president. President Teodoro Obiang […]

Political Parties in Equatorial Guinea

Below is a list of political parties in Equatorial Guinea.  This is a preliminary list and will be followed with a more detailed history of the parties. Major parties Democratic […]

Equatorial Guinea

The President is elected for a 7 year term with no term limits. The unicameral House of People’s Representatives or Camara de Representantes del Pueblo has 100 members directly elected […]

Presidential 2009

An election took place on 29 November 2009. Teodoro Obiang Nguema Mbasogo (Democratic Party of Equatorial Guinea) 95.36% Plácido Micó Abogo (Convergence for Social Democracy) 3.55% Archivaldo Montero Biribé (Popular […]

Parliamentary 2008

An election to the Chamber of People’s Representatives took place on 4 May 2008. Democratic Party of Equatorial Guinea (Partido Democrático de Guinea Ecuatorial) 99 Convergence for Social Democracy (Convergencia […]