Stories for

PM clears out Cabinet

Prime Minister Hailemariam Desalegn carried out a major clear out of his Cabinet yesterday keeping just nine ministers and introducing 21 new ministers in a major Cabinet reshuffle. The new […]

Cabinet of Ethiopia

Hailemariam Desalegn Prime Minister Demeke Mekonnen Deputy Prime Minister Siraj Fegessa Minister of Defence Kassa Tekleberhan Minister of Federal Affairs and Pastoral Area Development Dr Debretsion Gebremichael Minister of Communication […]

Parliament endorses Ethiopian Cabinet

The House of People’s Representatives has endorsed the ministers nominated by newly re-elected Prime Minister Hailemariam Dessalegn. Some ministers, such as Deputy Prime Minister Demeke Mekonn, remain in their roles, […]

Parliament passes Budget

The Ethiopian News Agency reports that the House of People’s Representatives (HPR) approved on Tuesday the 2015/2016 budget. The budget for the forthcoming year will be 223.3 billion birr (£6.9 […]

Ruling party wins every seat in General Election

The National Electoral Board of Ethiopia (NEBE) has announced the final results of the 24th May general election. The Ethiopian Peoples’ Revolutionary Democratic Front (EPRDF) won 500 of the 547 […]

EPRDF wins general election again

As expected the ruling Ethiopian People’s Revolutionary Democratic Front (EPRDF) has overwhelmingly won the general election which took place on 24th May. The EPRDF has ruled Ethiopia since 1991. Preliminary […]

Parliamentary 2015

An election to the House of Peoples’ Representatives took place on 24 May 2015. Ethiopian People’s Revolutionary Democratic Front (EPRDF) 500 Somali People’s Democratic Party (SPDP) 24 Benishangul Gumuz People’s […]

Ethiopia votes for a new Parliament

Around 36.8 million Ethiopians will have the opportunity to elect a new parliament and 11 Regional Assemblies today. In the 2010 general election the Ethiopian People’s Revolutionary Democratic Front (EPRDF) […]