Stories for

Bainimarama changes Ministries

Prime Minister Voreqe Bainimarama of Fiji has carried out a reshuffle of his Cabinet whilst also making changes to some ministerial portfolios. He is now the Foreign Minister and has […]

Cabinet of Fiji

Josaia Voreqe Bainimarama Prime Minister, Minister of Foreign Affairs and Minister for i-Taukei Affairs and Sugar Industry Aiyaz Sayed-Khaiyum Attorney-General and Minister for Finance, Public Enterprises, Civil Service & Communications Faiyaz […]

Parliament elects Jioji Konrote as President

Jioji Konrote, the Minister for Employment, Productivity and Industrial Relations, has been elected by Fiji’s parliament to be the country’s next President. Konrote took 31 votes to 14 votes for […]

Full text of Parliament opening speech by President

President Ratu Epeli Nailatikau opened the 2015-2016 session of the Fijian parliament yesterday. The full text of the speech by the president as published on the government website is as […]

Infrastructure Minister stands down

Minister for Infrastructure and Transport and the leader of the Government in the Parliament, Pio Tikoduadua, has resigned his portfolios due to “an advanced form of cancer”. Prime Minister Bainimarama […]

Fiji and Australia normalise relations

Australia and Fiji have decided to resume normal relations after a break of seven years following the coup d’etat in 1987. Australian Minister of Foreign Affairs, Julie Bishop, made the […]

Full list of new Cabinet

Following the general election on Wednesday 17th September, newly elected Prime Minister Frank (Voreqe) Bainimarama has announced his new Cabinet. The new team consists of 14 Cabinet Ministers and five […]

FijiFirst wins general election

The man who led a military coup d’état in 2006, Rear-Admiral Frank Bainimarama and his FijiFirst party have been elected in elections which took place last Wednesday. Although not all […]

Parliamentary 2014

An election to the House of Representatives took place on 17 September 2014. FijiFirst 32 Social Democratic Liberal Party 15 National Federation Party 3 People’s Democratic Party 0 Fiji Labour […]

First democratic election since 2006 today

Fiji is holding elections today for the first time since a military coup d’état toppled the government of the day in 2006. The junta run by Commodore Frank Bainimarama, who […]

FijiFirst Party

The FijiFirst Party was launched on 31st March 2014 and became a registered party on 30th May 2014. The party is led by former coup d’état leader and current Prime […]

Fiji Labour Party

The Fiji Labour Party or FLP was formed in 1985 as a multi-racial party drawing its support from the Indo-Fijian community. The party describes itself as Centre-left. The FLP fought […]

National Federation Party

The National Federation Party or NFP was founded in November 1968 as a merger of the Federation Party and the National Democratic Party. The party is largely supported by Indo-Fijians. […]

People’s Democratic Party

The People’s Democratic Party or PDP was originally set up by the Fiji Trades Union Congress in January 2013 to look after workers’ rights. But the Fijian regime introduced new […]

Social Democratic Liberal Party

The Social Democratic Liberal Party or SODELPA was formed in January 2013 after the dissolution of the Soqosoqo Duavata ni Lewenivanua (United National Party – SDL). In January 2013 the […]