Stories for

Prime Minister Andrew Holness names his Cabinet

New Prime Minister Andrew Holness announced his Cabinet yesterday as ministers were sworn in to office. There are 18 ministers in the new Cabinet with the Agriculture portfolio being merged […]

Cabinet of Jamaica

Andrew Holness Prime Minister, Minister of Defence, Minister of Economic Growth and Job Creation Horace Chang Minister without Portfolio in the Office of the Prime Minister Derrick Smith Minister without […]

Opposition JLP wins general election

Jamaica’s opposition centre-right Jamaica Labour Party (JLP), led by Andrew Holness, has won Wednesday’s general election. The JLP won 33 of the 63 seats in the House of Representatives on […]

Parliamentary 2016

An election to the House of Representatives took place on 25th February 2016. Jamaica Labour Party (JLP) 32 People’s National Party (PNP) 31 Marcus Garvey People’s Progressive Party (MGPPP) 0 […]

Jamaica goes to the polls

There are 152 candidates standing for 63 seats in the House of Representatives in today’s general election in Jamaica. Although there are six parties and 10 independent candidates standing only […]

General election called for 25th February

Prime Minister Portia Simpson Miller has called an early general election for 25th February. The election was due to be held by December of this year, but at a rally […]

Portia Simpson Miller shuffles her Cabinet

Prime Minister Portia Simpson Miller has made a number of changes to her Cabinet. The formal press release as published on the prime minister’s website is as follows: Prime Minister […]

Derrick Kellier appointed Agriculture Minister

Prime Minister Portia Simpson Miller has appointed Derrick Kellier, the Minister of Labour and Social Security, to the additional portfolio of Agriculture of Fisheries. The vacancy of the agriculture post […]

Agriculture Minister dies following surgery

Minister of Agriculture and Fisheries, Roger Clark, has died suddenly following surgery in the United States. Roger Clark had twice served as Agriculture Minister, the most recent time from 2012 […]