Stories for

Presidential 2017

An election has been announced for 19 November 2017. Results will be published here.

Parliament approves new Cabinet and Programme of Government

The Kyrgyz parliament has approved a new Cabinet and their programme of government. The move came after the party loyal to the president, the Social Democratic Party of Kyrgyzstan (SDPK), […]

Government collapses after SDPK withdraw

Kyrgyzstan’s government has collapsed after the party loyal to the president, the Social Democratic Party of Kyrgyzstan (SDPK), withdrew from the government yesterday over an argument involving changes to the […]

Parliamentary 2015

An election to the Supreme Council took place on 4 October 2015. Social Democratic Party (Kyrgyzstan sotsial-demokratiyalyk partiyasy) 38 Respublika–Ata-Zhurt 28 Kyrgyzstan Party 18 Onuguu–Progress 13 Bir Bol 12 Ata Meken […]

Tugolbai Kazakov is new Minister of Culture

President Almazbek Atambayev has appointed Tugolbai Kazakov as the new Minister of Culture, Information and Tourism. He replaces Altynbek Maksutov Askarovich. No further information has been forthcoming.

Cabinet of Kyrgyzstan

  Sooronbay Sharipovich Prime Minister Abulgazi Mukhammetkaly Dyushekeevich First Vice-Prime Minister Oleg Pankratov Mikhailovich Vice Prime Minister Kudaiberdieva Gulmira Karimova Vice-Prime Minister Osmonoliyev Akylbek Sharipovich Chief of Staff of the […]

Kyrgyz Cabinet sworn in

Following the appointment of Prime Minister Sooronbay Sharipovich last week, President Almazbek Atambayev has sworn in the new Cabinet. There are only three changes to the previous Cabinet and they […]

Sooronbay Jeenbekov is new Kyrgyz PM

Kyrgyz President Almazbek Atambayev has appointed Sooronbay Jeenbekov (Zheenbekov Sooronbay Sharipovich) as his new Prime Minister after Temir Sariyev resigned earlier this week. Jeenbekov (57) is a zoological engineer having […]

Kyrgyz Prime Minister resigns

Kyrgyzstan’s Prime Minister, Temir Sariyev, has resigned. The resignation means that the whole Cabinet has resigned but will remain on in caretaker mode until a new government is formed. The […]

Full list of new Cabinet

Following the 4th October general election in Kyrgyzstan Temir Sariyev has been reappointed as Prime Minister by President Almazbek Atambayev and the new government has been sworn in. The full […]

Four parties in new Coalition Government

Four parties have agreed to form a new coalition government following the 4th October general election. The Social Democratic Party (SPDK) led by Prime Minister Temir Sariyev is the lead […]

Defence Minister sacked

President Almazbek Atambayev has sacked his Minister of Defence, Abibilla Kudaiberdiev after he was accused by National Security Committee (NSC) officials and the Public-Prosecutor of abuse-of-office, embezzlement and forgery. The […]

Social Democrats emerge as largest party after general election

President Almazbek Atambayev’s Social Democratic Party of Kyrgyzstan (SDPK) has emerged as the largest of six parties elected to the country’s parliament in the general election on Sunday. The centre-left […]

Kyrgyz General Election today

A total of 2,761,297 voters are believed to be eligible to vote today in the general election for the 120 seats in the Supreme Council or Jogorku Kenesh. There are […]

General Election on 4th October

President Almazbek Atambayev has signed a decree setting the date for a general election as 4th October. Elections to the 120 seat Jogorku Kenesh or Supreme Council last took place […]

Kyrgyzstan’s new Cabinet

President Almazbek Atambayev has sworn in the new members of his government following the resignation of his Prime Minister two weeks ago. The new government was approved by the parliament […]

PM stands down

Prime Minister Djoomart Otorbaev has tendered his resignation following the approval of the 2014 report by the Cabinet to parliament. The Prime Minister took office a year ago and is […]

President undergoes slow change of Ministerial positions

Deputy Minister of Finance and Director of the Treasury Office of the Ministry of Finance Almaz Baketayev has been appointed the Acting Minister of Finance by President Almazbek Atambayev. This […]

Justice Minister resigns over spat with President’s office

The Minister of Justice for Kyrgyzstan, Almambet Shykmamatov, has tendered his resignation to Prime Minister Djoomart Otorbaev. The reason for the resignation appears to be a spat between the Justice […]

President Almazbek Atambayev appoints new Cabinet

President Almazbek Atambayev has appointed his new 20 member Cabinet with Joomart Otorbaev as the new Prime Minister. The full list of the new Government members as published on the […]