Stories for

Parliament dissolved

Following the vote of no confidence against Prime Minister Pakalitha Mosisili last week King Letsie III of Lesotho has dissolved parliament. A general election must now be called within three […]

Lesotho heads towards fresh elections

Prime Minister Pakalitha Mosisili lost a no-confidence vote in the parliament yesterday evening. The prime minister and his Democratic Congress (DC) party have struggled to hold together a loose coalition […]

Pakalitha Mosisili back as PM

Although the All Basotho Convention (ABC) of Prime Minister Thomas Thabane increased their tally of seats by 16 to 46 seats in the general election on 28th February it was […]

Parliamentary 2015

An election took place on 28 February 2015. Constituency Seats Compensatory Seats Total Democratic Congress (DC)  37  10 47 All Basotho Convention (ABC)  40  6 46 Lesotho Congress for Democracy (LCD) […]

Lesotho holds early elections

The people of Lesotho are going to the polls today, two years early. Lesotho’s Independent Elections Commission (IEC) describes the reason as “due to the challenges of the coalition government […]

Parliament to reopen today

Lesotho’s parliament will re-open today four months after it was prorogued by Prime Minister Thomas Thabane in order to avoid a no-confidence motion. Following the general election in June 2012 […]

Parliament to reconvene on 19th September

Lesotho’s Prime Minister, Thomas Thabane, has returned to the country apparently escorted by a South African security forces detachment. In a radio broadcast last night he announced that he would […]

Coalition leaders reach agreement to resume Parliament

It remains unclear as to whether there was a coup attempt in Lesotho over the weekend or not. However the result has been to nudge members of the coalition government […]

PM flees country after suspected coup attempt

Gunshots were heard early yesterday and rumours of a military coup quickly spread in Maseru, the capital of Lesotho. The situation became even more confused after Prime Minister Thomas Thabane […]

Cabinet of Lesotho

Thomas Thabane Prime Minister, Minister of Defence, of Police and National Security Mothetjoa Metsing Deputy Prime Minister, Minister of Local Government and Chieftainship Affairs Thesele ‘Maseribane Minister of Gender, Youth, […]

Cabinet appointed

The new Cabinet of the government of Lesotho has been formulated following their general election on 26th May. The new government comprises a 20 member Cabinet from three parties, the […]

New PM sworn in

Thomas Thabane of the All Basotho Convention (ABC) was sworn in yesterday as the new Prime Minister of Lesotho. Thabane is a former Principal Secretary for Health. From 1990 to […]

PM and Cabinet resign

Prime Minister Pakalitha Mosisili and his Cabinet have resigned after they failed to gain an overall majority in the general election on Sunday. The Prime Minister’s Democratic Congress (DC) took […]

PM’s party wins

Prime Minister Pakalitha Mosisili’s party, the Democratic Congress (DC), has won a majority of the constituency seats in the National Assembly of Lesotho following the general election on Sunday. The […]