Stories for

ForMin resigns over use of capital punishment

Maldives Minister of Foreign Affairs, Dunya Maumoon, has resigned her portfolio. The Foreign Minister had come into conflict with President Abdulla Yameen over the use of the death penalty. In […]

President changes five ministries

President Abdulla Yameen Abdul Gayoom has carried out a reshuffle of his Cabinet introducing five changes including Finance and Home Affairs. The formal press release as published on the presidential […]

VP impeached

Maldives’ parliament (People’s Majlis) has voted to impeach Vice President Ahmed Adheeb Abdul Ghafoor. Sixty-one of the 85 members present voted in favour of the impeachment with the main opposition […]

Maldives declares State of Emergency

President Abdulla Yameen Abdul Gayoom has declared a thirty days state of emergency. The move follows an apparent assassination attempt on him when his motorboat blew up recently; the Vice-President […]

Defence Minister sacked

President Abdulla Yameen has sacked defence minister Moosa Ali Jaleel. The news was announced through a statement made to Reuters on Wednesday. Although Reuters could give no reason for the […]

Vice-President impeached by Parliament

The People’s Majlis (Parliament) has voted to impeach Vice President Dr Mohamed Jameel for dereliction of duty. The vote was won by 78 votes in favour with two against in […]

IMF completes Article IV consultation with Maldives

The International Monetary Fund (IMF) has completed its Article IV consultation with Maldives. The full press release as published on the IMF website is as follows; “IMF Executive Board Concludes […]

President changes Defence Minister

In a statement today the President’s office announced that “President Abdulla Yameen Abdul Gayoom has today dismissed Col ‎‎(Rtd) Mohamed Nazim from the post of Minister of Defence and ‎National […]

PPM secures majority in People’s Majlis

According to a report in Minivan News, the government of President Abdulla Yameen has secured a majority in parliament after a Jumhooree Party (JP) Member of Parliament joined the ruling […]