Stories for

Mauritius is told it has a new Prime Minister

Prime Minister Anerood Jugnauth resigned his post yesterday and was replaced immediately by his son Pravind Kumar Jugnauth. The handover of power has been controversial because there does not appear […]

Pravind Jugnauth appointed FinMin

Prime Minister Anerood Jugnauth has appointed his son, Pravind Jugnauth, as the country’s new Minister of Finance. Pravind Jugnauth had previously been the minister of technology, communication and innovation (Dec […]

Ameenah Gurib Fakim elected President

Ameenah Gurib-Fakim has been unanimously elected as the new President of the Republic of Mauritius. The formal notification as published on the government website is as follows: “National Assembly elects […]

President stands down

President Kailash Purryag has announced that he is stepping down as President with immediate effect. Until a new President is elected by Parliament, probably on Monday, Vice-President Monique Agnes Ohsan […]

Full list of new Cabinet

President Rajkeswur Purryag will swear in to office the new Cabinet of Mauritius today following the general election last week. The new government will be led by Prime Minister Sir […]

Opposition Alliance Lepep wins General Election

The opposition Alliance Lepep (Alliance of the People) defied the opinion polls and was convincingly elected into office in the general election held on Wednesday (10th December). The Alliance Lepep […]

Parliamentary 2014

An election to the National Assembly took place on 10 December 2014. Elected Additional Total Alliance Lepep 47 4 51 Militant Socialist Movement (Mouvement Socialiste Militant, MSM) Mauritian Social Democratic […]

Mauritius goes to the polls

The people of Mauritius will be voting in their general election today. The election is for the 70 seats in the National Assembly. There are 20 three-seat constituencies and one […]