Stories for

IMF 2015 Article IV Consultation with Namibia

IMF Executive Board Concludes 2015 Article IV Consultation with Namibia Press Release No. 15/435 September 24, 2015 On September 18, 2015, the Executive Board of the International Monetary Fund (IMF) […]

Cabinet of Namibia

Dr Nickey Iyambo Vice-President Tom Alweendo Minister in the Presidency in charge of National Planning Commission Frans Kapofi Minister of Presidential Affairs Saara Kuugongelwa-Amadhila Prime Minister Netumbo Nandi-Ndaitwah Deputy Prime […]

Geingob names new Government

President-elect Hage Geingob will be sworn in to office tomorrow (Saturday 21st March 2015) following the 28th November general election. The President-elect has also named his new Government; there will […]

Presidential 2014

An election took place on 28 November 2014. Hage Geingob (SWAPO) 86.73% McHenry Venaani (Democratic Turnhalle Alliance) 4.97% Hidipo Hamutenya (Rally for Democracy and Progress) 3.39% Asser Mbai (National Unity […]

Parliamentary 2014

An election to the National Assembly took place on 28 November 2014. SWAPO 77 Democratic Turnhalle Alliance 5 Rally for Democracy and Progress 3 All People’s Party 2 United Democratic […]

SWAPO expected winners in general election today

There are 1,241,194 Namibians eligible to vote in today‚Äôs general election to elect a new National Assembly and President. They will be voting at 3,966 polling stations of which 2,586 […]

All People’s Party

The All People’s Party or APP was registered in January 2008 and was formed by dissidents from the Congress of Democrats and SWAPO political parties. The APP won one of […]

Congress of Democrats

The Congress of Democrats or CoD was founded in March 1999. It describes itself as Centre-left and believes in Democratic Socialism. The Congress of Democrats won five of the 78 […]

Democratic Turnhalle Alliance

The Democratic Turnhalle Alliance or DTA is one of the oldest parties in Namibia and was founded in 1977. The name comes from the Turnhalle building (old Turners hall) in […]

National Unity Democratic Organisation

The National Unity Democratic Organisation or NUDO was formed as a split from the Democratic Turnhalle Alliance (DTA) in January 2004. In the 2004 election the party won three seats. […]

Rally for Democracy and Progress

The Rally for Democracy and Progress or RDP was formed by two former SWAPO Cabinet Ministers in November 2007. The party describes itself as Centre-left. In the 2009 election the […]

South West Africa National Union

The South West Africa National Union or SWANU is the oldest political party in Namibia, having been formed in 1959, taking much of its support from the Herero people. The […]

SWAPO Party of Namibia

The SWAPO Party of Namibia or SWAPO was formerly known as the South West Africa People’s Organization and was founded in 1960 to create a national liberation movement from South […]

United Democratic Front

The United Democratic Front or UDF was founded in 1989, bringing together the Damara Council and a number of smaller parties to represent the Damara people. The UDF has consistently […]