Stories for

Update on Council of Ministers

President Bidhya Devi Bhandari has sworn in a further thirteen ministers into the Council of Ministers yesterday. All the ministers were from the Nepali Congress and it brings to 26 […]

First Ministers appointed amidst internal squabbles

The first ministers have been announced as Nepal’s new prime minister, Pushpa Kamal Dahal (also known as Prachanda), takes office. Despite the early appointments the Kathmandu Post reports that there […]

Prachanda elected PM by Nepalese parliament

Pushpa Kamal Dahal (also known as Prachanda), the Chairman of the far-left Communist Party of Nepal (Maoist-Centre) which has 80 of the 601 seats in Nepal’s Constituent Assembly has been […]

Prime Minister resigns ahead of confidence vote

Prime Minister K. P. Sharma Oli (Khadga Prasad Sharma Oli), the chairman of the Communist Party of Nepal (Unified Marxist-Leninist) (CPN–UML), resigned yesterday just minutes before he was about to […]

President adds Ministries and Ministers to accommodate new government parties

President Bidhya Devi Bhandari has been carrying some changes to her ministries. The Ministry of Health and Population and the Ministry of Science, Technology and Environment have been reorganised to […]

IMF 2015 Article IV Consultation with Nepal

IMF Executive Board Concludes 2015 Article IV Consultation with Nepal Press Release No. 15/524 November 18, 2015 On November 16, 2015, the Executive Board of the International Monetary Fund (IMF) […]

Nepal elects first female President

In a vote in parliament yesterday Bidhya Devi Bhandari, previously the Vice-Chair of the CPN-UML, beat Kul Bahadur Gurung, leader of the Nepali Congress, to become the first female President […]

Prime Minister builds new Cabinet

Prime Minister Khadga Prasad Oli has been busy appointing his new Cabinet over the past few days. Although the process is not yet complete the list of Cabinet Ministers appointed […]

Khadga Prasad Oli elected Prime Minister

K. P. Sharma Oli (Khadga Prasad Sharma Oli), the chairman of the Communist Party of Nepal (Unified Marxist-Leninist) (CPN–UML) has been elected the first Prime Minister of Nepal under the […]

Nepal finally gets a new Constitution

In what has been a long haul to get to this moment, Nepal’s Constituent Assembly (CA) agreed by more than a two thirds majority yesterday to pass the country’s new […]

Agriculture Development Minister resigns

Minister for Agriculture Development Hari Prasad Parajuli, a member of Communist Party of Nepal (Unified Marxist-Leninist), has been forced to resign his post. The minister resigned after he was caught […]

New Industry and Tourism Ministers appointed

Prime Minister Sushil Koirala appointed Mahesh Basnet as Minister of Industry and Dipak Chandra Amatya as Minister for Tourism and Civil Aviation late last week. The appointments were made after […]

Indian PM promises HIT for Nepal

India’s Prime Minister, Narendra Modi has announced a number of measures to support Nepal including a $1 billion Line of Credit in addition to earlier grants in a visit to […]

Cabinet expanded to 24 members

Prime Minister Sushil Koirala has expanded his Cabinet to 24 members by adding three new members yesterday and bringing more small parties into his government. Sunil Thapa from the Rastriya […]