Stories for

Changes in Kuczynski ministries

Former Culture Minister Jorge Nieto Montesinos (65) has been appointed as Peru’s new Minister of Defence. He replaces Mariano González Fernández who resigned his post last week after a newspaper […]

Kuczynski announces his Cabinet

President-elect Pedro Pablo Kuczynski has announced his 19 member Cabinet prior to him coming in to office on 28th July. The full list of the new Cabinet is as follows: […]

Cabinet of Peru

Martin Vizcarra Vice-President and Minister of Transportation and Communications Fernando Zavala Chief of Cabinet Alfredo Thorne Minister of Economy and Finance Gonzalo Tamayo Minister of Energy and Mines Carlos Basombrio […]

Fernando Zavala to be new Prime Minister

Peru’s President-elect Pedro Pablo Kuczynski has chosen an economist, Fernando Zavala, to be his new prime minister. Fernando Zavala Lombardi (45) is currently the CEO of Backus and Johnston, a […]

Pedro Pablo Kuczynski wins by narrow margin to become Peru’s new President

With 100% of the ballots finally counted from last Sunday’s presidential second round runoff, the results has been proclaimed. Peru’s electoral commission (ONPE) has announced that Pedro Pablo Kuczynski of […]

Presidential 2016

The election took place in two rounds, on 10 April and 5 June 2016. Keiko Fujimori (Popular Force) 39.86% Pedro Pablo Kuczynski (Peruvians for Change) 21.05% Verónika Mendoza (Broad Front) […]

Presidential second round runoff today

The voters of Peru go to the polls for a second time today to elect a new president. Of the ten candidates who stood in the first round on 10th […]

Keiko Fujimori and Pedro Pablo Kuczynski face off in Presidential second round

It seems pretty certain now that the presidential election second round runoff on 5th June will be between Keiko Fujimori and Pedro Pablo Kuczynski. Turnout at Sunday’s general election was […]

Parliamentary 2016

An election took place on 10 April 2016. Popular Force (Fuerza Popular) 73 Peruvians for Change (Peruanos Por el Kambio) 18 Broad Front for Justice, Life, and Liberty (Frente Amplio) […]

Peru holds highly charged General Election

Peru is going to the polls today to elect a new President, two Vice-Presidents, the 130 members of the Congress of the Republic and five representatives to the Andean parliament. […]

Peru Presidential hopefuls barred from standing

Peru’s electoral authority has disqualified two candidates prior to the 10th April general and presidential elections in Peru. Peru’s special elections tribunal disqualified presidential candidate Cesar Acuña of the Alliance […]

Peru holds Municipal elections

Peru is holding municipal elections today across 10 districts that were created after the regional and municipal elections of 5th October 2014. A total of 10 mayors (one provincial and […]

Aldo Vasquez appointed Minister for Justice and Human Rights

President Ollanta Humala has appointed Aldo Vasquez as his new Minister for Justice and Human Rights. Vasquez succeeds Gustavo Adrianzén, who resigned this week after the controversy of the sacking […]

Justice Minister resigns

Peru’s Justice Minister, Gustavo Adrianzén, has resigned his portfolio. Adrianzén is the sixth Justice Minister of President Ollanta Humala’s administration. The move came after Congress opposition members made moves to […]

President Humala on 80 percent disapproval rating

President Ollanta Humala has a 15% support rating according to a recent GfK poll. The poll shows that around 80% disapprove of the President’s record as he enters his final […]

IMF 2015 Article IV Consultation with Peru

IMF Executive Board Concludes 2015 Article IV Consultation with Peru Press Release No.15/240 May 27, 2015 On May 20, 2015, the Executive Board of the International Monetary Fund (IMF) concluded […]

Pedro Cateriano is new PM

President Ollanta Humala has named a new Prime Minister after Congress forced Ana Jara, his previous Chief of Cabinet, out of office. The new Chief of Cabinet is Pedro Cateriano […]

Prime Minister censured

Prime Minister Ana Jara Velásquez was forced to resign from her post yesterday afternoon after Congress voted in favour of a censure motion by 72 to 42 votes. The move […]

President Humala changes key Ministers

President Ollanta Humala has carried out a reshuffle of his Cabinet, making five changes, four of whom are new Ministers. All the changes are in key ministries and follows on […]