Stories for

Somalia gets a new Cabinet

Somalia’s Prime Minister Hassan Ali Kheyre has announced a new Cabinet of 27 Ministers. The Cabinet has yet to be approved by parliament. The full list of the new Cabinet […]

Cabinet of Somalia

Hassan Ali Khayre Prime Minister Mahdi Ahmed Guled Deputy Prime Minister Yusuf Garad Omar Minister of Foreign Affairs Abdi Farah Juxa Minister of Interior and Federal Affairs Dr. Abdirahman Dualle […]

Hassan Ali Khaire appointed Prime Minister

Recently elected President Mohamed Abdullahi Mohamed has appointed Hassan Ali Khaire to be Somalia’s next prime minister. Hassan Ali Khaire (49) went to school in Mogadishu and then moved to […]

Mohamed Abdullahi Mohamed elected President

Somalia held its presidential election yesterday in an indirect election in parliament and elected former Prime Minister Mohamed Abdullahi Mohamed as its new President. He beat off 20 other contenders […]

Parliamentary 2016

An election has been announced for 24 September 2016. Results will be published here.

IMF 2015 Article IV Consultation with Somalia

IMF Executive Board Concludes 2015 Article IV Consultation with Somalia Press Release No. 15/360 July 29, 2015 On July 27, 2015, the Executive Board of the International Monetary Fund (IMF) […]

Prime Minister tries again with new Cabinet nominees

Prime Minister Omar Abdirashid Ali Sharmarke has submitted a new list of Cabinet Ministers to parliament. The previous list which had 25 Ministers was rejected by parliament earlier this month […]

New Cabinet agreed

President Hassan Sheikh Mohamud and his new Prime Minister, Omar Abdirashid Ali Sharmarke, have named a new Cabinet. The new Cabinet has 26 Cabinet members, nine Ministers of State and […]

Omar Abdirashid Ali Sharmarke appointed Prime Minister

President Hassan Sheikh Mohamud has appointed Omar Abdirashid Ali Sharmarke as the new Prime Minister. His appointment follows the dismissal of Abdiweli Sheikh Ahmed Mohamed by Parliament on 6th December. […]

Parliament sacks the Prime Minister

Somalia’s parliament has finally voted against Prime Minister Abdiweli Sheikh Ahmed in a motion of no confidence. The vote, which took place on Saturday, follows several months of conflict between […]

Enlarged Cabinet revealed

Prime Minister Abdiweli Sheikh Ahmed Mohamed has announced the full list of his new government. The Cabinet will consist of 25 ministers, up from the previous Cabinet of ten ministers. […]

President appoints economist as new PM

President Hassan Sheikh Mohamud has appointed an economist, Abdiweli Sheikh Ahmed, to be his new prime minister. The appointment has to be approved by parliament before the building of a […]

Prime Minister Abdi Farah Shirdon ousted in confidence vote

Somalia’s parliament has ended a nearly month long dispute between President Hassan Sheikh Mohamud and his Prime Minister, Abdi Farah Shirdon. The two men are reported to have clashed over […]

Cabinet sends 2014 budget to Parliament

Prime Minister Abdi Farah Shirdon has confirmed that the Somali Cabinet has endorsed the Budget for 2014. The 2014 Budget will go to parliament for approval and is expected to […]

No consultations with the IMF for more than 20 years

The International Monetary Fund (IMF) has confirmed that for the 20th year in a row they have been unable to complete an Article IV consultation with the government of Somalia. […]

Speech by President Hassan Sheikh Mohamud in London

A one day international conference on Somalia was held yesterday in London. Below is the full text of the opening speech given by Somali President Hassan Sheikh Mohamud as published […]

PM Abdi Farah Shirdon outlines progress as British FM opens embassy

British Secretary of State for the Foreign and Commonwealth Office, William Hague, has visited Mogadishu to formally re-open the British Embassy twenty-two years after it was abandoned. Although the old […]

IMF recognises Somalia after 22 years

Somalia has been recognised by the International Monetary Fund (IMF) after an interval of twenty-two years. The news comes (see full IMF press release, as published on their website, below) […]

PM Abdi Farah Shirdon and Puntland President Abdirahman Mohamed Faroole sign 7 point agreement

Prime Minister Abdi Farah Shirdon and Puntland President Abdirahman Mohamed Faroole have signed a 7 point agreement in Garowe. It details the relationship between the central government and the Puntland […]