Stories for

Parliament becomes a Constitutional Assembly

Sri Lanka’s parliament has convened today as a Constitutional Assembly (CA) in a move designed to make changes to the constitution promised by President Maithripala Sirisena during his election campaign […]

Sarath Fonseka appointed Minister for Regional Development

The President’s Media Division Twitter account has announced that “Field Marshal Sarath Fonseka has taken oaths as the Cabinet Minister for Regional Development, before President” Sarath Fonseka (65) joined the […]

Law and Order Minister resigns over floating armouries

Thilak Janaka Marapana, Sri Lanka’s Minister of Law and Order & Prison Reforms has resigned his portfolio. He is alleged to have protected a private security company which was under […]

Three more Cabinet Ministers appointed

President Maithripala Sirisena has completed the appointment of Cabinet Ministers yesterday, swearing in three more ministers. They are: Malik Samarawickrama; Minister of Development Strategies and International Trade Vijith Wijeyamuni de […]

Cabinet sworn in

The new Cabinet of Sri Lanka has finally been sworn in after delays due to the formation of a national government between the United National Party (UNP) the winners of […]

Cabinet of Sri Lanka

Ranil Wickremesinghe Prime Minister and Minister of National Policy & Economic Affairs John Amaratunga Minister of Tourism Development & Christian Affairs Gamini Jayawickrama Perera Minister of Sustainable Development & Wildlife […]

Expanded Cabinet to be announced soon

Sri Lanka’s parliament has convened after the general election. Its first task was to approve the expansion of the Cabinet after the formation of a national unity government. Prime Minister […]

UNP win general election

The United National Party (UNP) and its United National Front for Good Governance (UNFGG) has won the general election which took place on Monday. This confirms that UNP leader Ranil […]

Parliamentary 2015

An election took place on 17 August 2015. United National Party 106 United People’s Freedom Alliance 95 Ilankai Tamil Arasu Kadchi 16 People’s Liberation Front 6 Eelam People’s Democratic Party […]

Parliamentary elections today

Sri Lankan voters will go to the polls today for the second time this year to elect a new parliament. In January a snap presidential election was held in which […]

Parliament dissolved with election on 17th August

The state run Daily News newspaper has reported this morning that President Maithripala Sirisena dissolved Parliament last night in readiness for a general election. The newspaper also reports the Election […]

President appoints new Ministers

Following the resignation of a number of Ministers from the Cabinet last week President Maithripala Sirisena has sworn in replacements. The new appointments as announced on Presinform are as follows: […]

National Unity Government starts to disintegrate

The coalition between the United National Party (UNP) and those from the Sri Lanka Freedom Party (SLFP) supporting President Maithripala Sirisena is starting to disintegrate. Four Ministers resigned yesterday just […]

Bill passed to curb Presidential powers

Sri Lanka’s parliament has passed the Bill known as the “Nineteenth Amendment to the Constitution”. The Bill was passed with the support of 215 of the 225 members of the […]

19th Amendment presented to Parliament

Sri Lanka’s Cabinet has approved legislation that will introduce a 19th Amendment to the Constitution. Yesterday the legislation (you can read it in full here) was tabled in Parliament. With […]

President secures Government of National Unity

President Maithripala Sirisena managed two moves over the weekend to shore up his government and stave off a possible comeback by former President Mahinda Rajapaksa. He secured the suppor of […]

Full list of new Cabinet

President Maithripala Sirisena appointed a 27 member Cabinet yesterday with a further 10 Ministers of State and eight Deputy Ministers. The President retained the Defence portfolio and had earlier appointed […]

Ranil Wickremesinghe appointed Prime Minister

Newly sworn in President, Maithripala Sirisena has enacted the first part of his programme. He has appointed United National Party (UNP) leader Ranil Wickremesinghe as the new Prime Minister of […]