Stories for

Most vote ‘Yes’ in Constitutional Referendum

A total of 4,038,183 or 91.74% of eligible voters voted in Sunday’s constitutional referendum. Of those 96.6% voted for the 41 changes proposed to the constitution according to the Central […]

Tajikistan holds Constitutional Referendum

Tajikistan is holding a constitutional referendum today to decide on a number of important changes. There are 41 changes being proposed and the 4.2 million voters will be able to […]

IMF 2015 Article IV Consultation with Tajikistan

IMF Executive Board Concludes 2015 Article IV Consultation with Tajikistan Press Release No. 15/268 June 9, 2015 On June 1, 2015 the Executive Board of the International Monetary Fund (IMF) […]

Ruling party retains nearly all seats

As expected, President Emomali Rahmon’s ruling People’s Democratic Party of Tajikistan (PDPT) won the general election on 1st March. In the 2010 election the People’s Democratic Party of Tajikistan (PDPT) […]

Parliamentary 2015

An election to the Assembly of Representatives took place on 1 March 2015. Constituency PR Total People’s Democratic Party of Tajikistan (Hizbi Khalqī-Demokratī Tojikiston) 35 16 51 Agrarian Party of […]

No surprises expected in general election today

The ruling People’s Democratic Party of Tajikistan (PDPT) is expected to win the general election today, although the main opposition Islamic Revival Party of Tajikistan (IRPT) was proving to be […]

President Rahmon gives annual address to Parliament

President Emomali Rahmon of Tajikistan has delivered his annual address to both houses of parliament and has urged greater work in developing the country’s economy. “Over the past 7 years, […]

Asia Plus

Private news agency – takes a bit of navigating but worth the effort

New Cabinet members named

President Emomali Rahmon has named a number of ministers in his new Cabinet over the past week. The president was re-elected on 6th November and his Cabinet resigned on 18th […]

Qohir Rasoulzoda is new Prime Minister

President Emomali Rahmon who was elected for a fourth term in office on 6th November has started the process of renewing his Cabinet, all of whom resigned on 18th November. […]

Emomali Rahmon wins fourth term as President

As widely expected, incumbent president, Emomali Rahmon won the presidential election, which took place yesterday, with 83.6% of the vote. The Central Commission for Elections and Referenda (CCER) says that […]

Presidential 2013

An election took place on 6 November 2013. Emomalii Rahmon (People’s Democratic Party) 83.92% Ismail Talbakov (Communist Party) 5.04% Talibek Buhariyev (Agrarian Party) 4.61% Alim Babayev (Economic Reform Party) 3.91% […]