Stories for

IMF 2015 Article IV Consultation with Togo

IMF Executive Board Concludes 2015 Article IV Consultation with Togo Press Release No. 15/515 November 13, 2015 On October 26, 2015, the Executive Board of the International Monetary Fund (IMF) […]

Full list of new Cabinet

Prime Minister Komi Selom Klassou announced his new Cabinet yesterday following the Presidential election on 25th April. The new Cabinet has 23 Ministers (previously 26) including four women according to […]

Cabinet of Togo

Komi Selom Klassou Prime Minister Adji Otèth Ayassor Minister of State, Minister of Economy and Finance, Planning and Forecasting Ms. Victoire Tomégah Dogbé Minister of Grassroots Development, Crafts, Youth and […]

Faure Gnassingbé elected for third term

Incumbent President Faure Gnassingbé of the Union for the Republic (UNIR) has been re-elected for a third term in office according to a press release by the country’s National Independent […]

Presidential 2015

An election took place on 25 April 2015. Faure Gnassingbé (Union for the Republic) 58.75% Jean-Pierre Fabre (National Alliance for Change) 35.21% Tchaboure Gogue (Alliance of Democrats for Integral Development) […]

Togo votes for a new President

A total of 3,529,780 voters will go to the polls today to elect a President in Togo. Incumbent President Faure Gnassingbé of the Union for the Republic (UNIR) is seeking […]

Challenges remain in accelerating economic reforms

“Real economic growth accelerated from almost 4½ in 2010-11 to 5¾ in 2012-13, reflecting dynamism in agriculture, mining, construction and public works, particularly in transportation infrastructure” says an International Monetary […]

President’s party wins election

Togo’s state broadcaster has announced that the ruling Union for the Republic (Union pour la République) of President Faure Gnassingbé has won the general election which took place last Thursday […]

Parliamentary 2013

An election to the National Assembly took place on 25 July 2013. Union for the Republic (Union Populaire pour la République) 62 Save Togo Collective (Collectif Sauvons le Togo) 19 Rainbow Alliance (Coalition […]

Polls open in Togo

The polls have opened for parliamentary elections in Togo. Polling hours are 7 a.m. – 4 p.m. today and a total of 1,174 candidates are standing for 91 seats. These […]

Election postponed indefinitely

The Togolese general election of 91 members of the National Assembly which was to take place today has been indefinitely postponed. The last election took place in 2007 when the […]

Union for the Republic

The Union for the Republic was founded in April 2012 as the successor party to the Rally of the Togolese People (RPT) which dates back to 1969. The original Rally […]

Union of Forces for Change

The Union of Forces for Change or UFC was originally a coalition of anti-Gnassingbé Eyadéma organisations. In 1993 it was launched as a social democratic party under the leadership of […]

Action Committee for Renewal

The Action Committee for Renewal or CAR was founded out of the Front of Associations for Renewal in early 1991 by Yawovi Agboyibo. The party boycotted the first presidential election […]

New Cabinet appointed

President Faure Gnassingbe has approved a new Cabinet for Togo after months of turmoil and the recent resignation of the previous Cabinet. The new Cabinet, which will be in place […]

President appoints new PM

President Faure Gnassingbe has named Minister of Trade and Promotion of the Private Sector, Arthème Seleagodji Kwesi Ahoomey-Zunu, as his new prime minister. He replaces Gilbert Houngbo who resigned suddenly […]