Democratic Labour Party

Published 1st February, 2013

The Democratic Labour Party was founded in 1955 when a break-away group from the Barbados Labour Party met at Glenhurst in St Michael, Barbados. Out of this ‘Glenhurst’ meeting the DLP was born, with the main leaders at the time being Errol Barrow, James Cameron Tudor and Frederick ‘Sleepy’ Smith. The DLP is a Centre Left Social-Democratic party.

In the election of 1956 the DLP won only four seats. In the next election which took place in 1961 the party won a majority of seats, despite receiving fewer votes than the Barbados Labour Party and Errol Barrow became Premier. In 1966 the DLP retained power and Barrow became the country’s first Prime Minister. The DLP were in opposition from 1976 to 1986 when they won 24 out of the 27 seats and then retained power until 1994.

In the last election, which took place in 2008, the Democratic Labour Party was returned to power under the leadership of David Thompson with 20 out of the 30 seats. Thompson died in 2010 and was succeeded by the current Prime Minister, Freundel Stuart.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *