List PR

The President is elected for a five year term with a second term allowed.

Bicameral. The Senate has 54 seats of which 34 are elected indirectly for five years terms and 20 are assigned to ethnic groups and past Chiefs of State. The National Assembly has a minimum of 100 seats with 60% Hutu, 40% Tutsi and at least 30% women elected for five year terms.

The Transparency International Corruption Perceptions Index (CPI) 2016 places Burundi at joint 159th out of 176 countries with a CPI 2016 score of 20 (where 100 is least corrupt).