Conservative Party of Canada

Published 4th April, 2011

The Conservative Party of Canada or Conservatives was founded in December 2003 when the Progressive Conservative Party and the Canadian Reform Conservative Alliance Party (Canadian Alliance) voted to merge their two entities.  The move was largely a response to three successive election victories by the Liberals and was designed to unite the centre right into one political party.

The party can trace its roots back to the Liberal Conservative party which was founded in 1854 by the first Prime Minister of Canada, Sir John A. Macdonald.

The new party was formally registered with Elections Canada on 7th December 2003 and on 20th March 2004 its new leader Stephen Harper, previously leader of the Canadian Alliance, was elected.

In June 2004 the party faced its first electoral test in the general election of that year and won 99 of 308 seats in the House of Commons with 29.62% of the vote.  That election saw the Liberals returned as a minority government.

Inevitably it was only two years later that the country held another election on 23rd January 2006.  The Conservatives took 124 of the 308 seats with 36.34% of the vote and formed a minority government.

Again, two years passed and another election was called on 14th October 2008.  Again the Conservatives increased their number of seats to 143 of the 307 seats with 37.6% of the vote; and again they formed a minority government.

On 26th March 2011 another general election was called after a vote of no confidence brought the minority government of Stephen Harper down and forced a 2nd May poll.

The Conservative Party of Canada is a member of the International Democrat Union (IDU) and associate member of Union of Latin American Parties.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *