Costa Rica

Social Christian Unity Party

Published 22nd January, 2014

The Social Christian Unity Party or PUSC was founded in 1978 as the four-party Unity Alliance. The four parties were the Christian Democratic Party (PDC founded in 1962), the Calderonist Republican Party (PRC founded in 1970), the Popular Union Party (PUP founded in 1974) and the Democratic Renewal Party (PRD founded in 1971). The four parties merged into the modern day party in 1983.

The PUSC describes itself as a Centre-right party and believes in Christian democracy and Conservatism.

The PUSC won its first election in 1978 when it took 27 of the 57 seats in the National Assembly and its presidential candidate Rodrigo Carazo Odio won with 50.5% of the vote. The PUSC went on to win the presidential election on three more occasions; Rafael Ángel Calderón Fournier (1990–94), Miguel Ángel Rodríguez (1998–2002) and Abel Pacheco (2002–06).

However, in the last two elections the party has performed badly; in 2006 it managed to win just five of the 57 seats in the National Assembly and in 2010 that went up to six seats. The party puts the demise down to corruption scandals involving two of its former presidents that were revealed just before the 2006 election. The two former presidents were Miguel Ángel Rodríguez and Rafael Ángel Calderón Fournier.

The Social Christian Unity Party is a member of the Centrist Democrat International (CDI).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *