Communist Party of Cuba

Published 15th October, 2012

The Communist Party of Cuba or PCC was originally formed in 1920 and later renamed the Popular Socialist Party. After the 1956 – 1959 revolution, in 1961, the Integrated Revolutionary Organizations (ORI) was formed by the merger of the 26th of July Movement, the Popular Socialist Party (PSP) and the Revolutionary Directorate (DR). On 26th March 1962 the ORI became the United Party of the Cuban Socialist Revolution (PURSC) and in October 1965 it became the Communist Party of Cuba (PCC).

The PCC believes in Marxism-Leninism, Revolutionary Socialism, Guevarism and Castroism.

The PCC under the leadership of Fidel Castro and in 2008 his brother Raúl Castro has ruled Cuba uninterrupted to the present day and holds all seats in the National Assembly of People’s Power.

The party is a member of the Foro de São Paulo (FSP).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *