People’s Rally for Progress

Published 21st February, 2011

The People’s Rally for Progress (RPP) was founded in 1979, its main component coming from the African People’s League for Independence (LPAI) which existed as an Issa supported pre-independence organisation.

The RPP was the ruling party from 1981 under a single party system. In 1992 when a multi-party system was introduced it took all 65 seats in the Chamber of Deputies.

In 1994 the RPP signed a peace agreement with the Afar based Front for the Restoration of Unity and Democracy (FRUD). The two parties fought the 1997 general election together and with 78.56% of the vote took all 65 seats once more.

By 2003 the RPP and FRUD had been joined by the National Democratic Party (PND) and Social Democratic People’s Party (PPSD) in what became known as the Union for the Presidential Majority (UMP). With 62.7% of the vote, the four parties took all 65 seats again and entered into a coalition government.

In 2008 the four parties were joined by the Union of Reform Partisans (UPR) and again in the general election of that year the UMP took all 65 seats. This time, however, the opposition boycotted the election.

The RPP has supported two presidential candidates throughout the aforementioned years, both of whom were elected and re-elected.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *