Democratic Left

Published 21st January, 2013

The Democratic Left or ID was founded in 1970 by a faction of the Radical Liberal Party (PLR) and some members of the Ecuadorian Socialist Party (PSE). The party describes itself as Centre-left and believes in Social democracy, Social Liberalism, Democratic Socialism and Reformism.

In the first democratic elections after the military junta, the ID won 15 seats in the 69 seat National Congress and then built on that to take 24 seats of the 71 seats in Congress in 1984.

In 1988 the party achieved a breakthrough when its presidential candidate, Rodrigo Borja Cevallos, won the presidential election with 54% of the vote in a second round runoff. The party also took a record 30 seats in the 71 seat National Congress. Borja and his government were forced to undertake a strict austerity programme which resulted in the government becoming very unpopular. As a result their presidential candidate in 1992 dropped to fourth place and the party plummeted to just seven seats.

In 1996 the party dropped further to three seats but picked up a little to 17 seats in 1998 and 16 seats in 2002. However, the renaissance was short lived and in 2006 they dropped back to seven seats and in 2009 that became just two of 124 seats in the new National Assembly.

The Democratic Left is a member of Socialist International.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *