About Egypt’s political parties

Since 25th January 2011 revolution and the fall of the Mubarak regime on 11th February 2011 there has been an explosion of interest in setting up civic society groups and […] more ->

Al-Nour Party (Hizb Al-Nour)

The Al-Nour Party was founded after the 25th January 2011 revolution. It describes itself as right wing, conservative and a Salafi Islamic party which believes in the literal version of […] more ->

Authenticity Party (Al-Asala)

The Al-Asala Party was founded in January 2011 by Abdel abd al-Maqsoud Afify and is a Salafi party. The part was officially recognised on 28th August 2011. It believes in […] more ->

Centre Party (Al-Wasat)

The Al-Wasat party was launched in 1996 by Abul Ella Madi and moderate members of a youth faction of the Muslim Brotherhood. The party describes itself as liberal democratic and […] more ->

Delegation Party (Al-Wafd)

The Al-Wafd party also known as the New Wafd Party was originally founded in the 1920s and is one of the oldest political parties in Egypt. In 1952 the party […] more ->

Democratic Arab Nasserite Party (Al-Dimqurati Al-Arabi Al-Nasseri)

The Democratic Arab Nasserite Party was founded in 1992 by Diaeddin Dawood. It describes itself as the successor to the old Arab Socialist Union Party and believes in Arab socialism, […] more ->

Democratic Front Party

The Democratic Front Party was founded in May 2007 by Osama al-Ghazali Harb. It describes itself as liberal and believes in a secular society but is not hostile to Islam. […] more ->

Democratic Generation (Al-Geel)

The al-Geel party was founded in 2002 by Nagi al-Shihaby its current leader; he was a former member of the Shura Council. From its party platform, the party appears to […] more ->

Dignity Party (Hizb Al-Karama)

Al-Karama is believed to have been founded originally in 1996 by Hamdin Sabbahy. It is known that it applied for registration in March 2002 and was refused. It is awaiting […] more ->

Egypt Freedom Party (Masr Al-Hurreyya)

The Egypt Freedom Party was founded on 18th May 2011 by Amr Hamzawy. The party describes itself as centre to centre-left. It believes in liberal democracy, social justice and social […] more ->

Egyptian Arab Socialist Party (HizbMasr Al-Arabi Al-Ishtaraki)

The Egyptian Arab Socialist Party was originally founded in 1976 and then re-established and registered in July 1997. It describes itself as left wing socialist and believes in Islamic law […] more ->

Egyptian Communist Party (Al-Hizb Al-sheo’ei Al-Masry)

The Egyptian Communist Party was founded in 1921 and banned in 1925. It reformed on 1st May 1975. It describes itself as leftist and communist and believes in a secular […] more ->

Egyptian Current Party (Al-Tayar Al-Masry)

The Egyptian Current Party was founded in June 2011 by a group of young members of the Muslim Brotherhood who refused to join the Brotherhoods Freedom and Justice party. The […] more ->

Egyptian Green Party

The Egyptian Green Party was founded on 14th April 1990 by Hassan Ragab and Kamal Kira. It describes itself as liberal and green and believes in a moderate Islamic state. […] more ->

Egyptian Social Democracy party (Al-Ḥezb Al-Maṣri Al-Democrāṭi Al-Egtmāʿi)

The Egyptian Social Democracy Party was founded in March 2011 and is still awaiting formal registration. It describes itself as a centre left social democratic party which believes in a […] more ->

Egyptian Socialist Party (Hizb Al-Ishtaraki Al-Masri)

The Egyptian Socialist Party was founded on 16th June 2011 by Ahmed Bahaa El-Din Shaaban who was a member of the Kefeya movement. The party describes itself as far left […] more ->

Free Egyptians Party (Hizb Al-Masreyeen Al-Ahrrar)

The Free Egyptians Party was founded on 3rd April 2011 by business tycoon Naguib Sawiris. It describes itself as liberal and believes in a secular state and Egyptian nationalism. The […] more ->

Freedom and Justice Party  (Hizb Al-Hureyawa Al-Adala)

The Freedom and Justice Party was founded on 6th June 2011 and is the political wing of the Muslim Brotherhood. The party describes itself as a ‘civil’ party rather than […] more ->

Islamic Labor Party (Hizb Al-Amal Al-Islamiya)

The Islamic Labor Party was founded by Ibrahim Shukri in November 1978 as the Labour Party or Socialist Labour Party to provide ‘loyal and constructive opposition’ to the ruling National […] more ->

National Progressive Unionist Grouping (Hizb Al-Tagammu Al-Watuni Al-Taqadomi Al-Wahedwi)

The National progressive Unionist Grouping or Tagammu Party was founded on 7th July 1977. It describes itself as left wing and a democratic socialist party which believes in a secular […] more ->

Revolutionary Socialist Party (Hizb Al-Ishtarakiya Al-Souriya)

The Revolutionary Socialist Party was founded in 1995 and has been a promoter of revolution first against the Mubarak Regime and more recently against the Supreme Council of the Armed […] more ->

The Justice Party (Bizb Al-Adl)

The Justice Party was founded in May 2011 by Abdelgelil Mostafa, Mona El-Baradei, Mostafa el-Naggar and Amr el-Shobaky. It describes itself as centrist and believes in a secular state. The […] more ->

Tomorrow Party (Al-Ghad)

The Al-Ghad Party was originally founded in 2004 by Ayman Nour. Subsequently the party split into two factions, Al-Ghad and Al-Ghad al Jadeid. The latter party is the vehicle of […] more ->