National Progressive Unionist Grouping

Published 17th November, 2011

The National progressive Unionist Grouping or Tagammu Party was founded on 7th July 1977. It describes itself as left wing and a democratic socialist party which believes in a secular state.

The party fought its first election in 1984 but along with 1987 it was unsuccessful in securing representation. In 1990 it took six of 454 seats, this dropped to five in 1995 but went up again to six in 2000. In 2005 they won two seats and in 2010 they took five seats.

The Tagammu Party is a member of the Egyptian Bloc.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *