Addis Ababa

The President is elected by the House of People’s Representatives for a six-year term and may serve a second term.

Bicameral. The House of Federation has 108 members chosen by state assemblies to serve five-year terms. The House of People’s Representatives has 547 members directly elected from single-member districts to serve five-year terms.

The Transparency International Corruption Perceptions Index (CPI) 2016 places Ethiopia at joint 108th out of 176 countries with a CPI 2016 score of 34 (where 100 is least corrupt).