New Patriotic Party

Published 31st October, 2012

The New Patriotic Party or NPP was founded in 1992 and may have been preceded by the United Gold Coast Convention, Progress Party (PP) and Popular Front Party (PFP), three leading parties since Ghana’s independence but all subsequently disbanded. The party describes itself as centre-right and believes in Liberal Democracy and Social Conservatism.

The party fought its first election in 1996 where it won 61 of the 200 seats in parliament. Its presidential candidate in that election, John Agyekum Kufuor, came second with 39.7% of the vote.

In the 2000 elections John Kufuor won the presidential election with 56.9% in a second round and in 2004 with 52.45% in the first round. The NPP did equally well in both these elections, taking 99 of 200 seats in the 2000 elections, making it the largest party. In 2004 the party won 128 of 230 seats in the parliament and went on to form the government for a second four year term.

The NPP lost the 2008 general election narrowly, taking 107 of the 230 seats in parliament. Their presidential candidate for those elections was Nana Akuffo-Addo and he too lost narrowly, taking 49.77% in the second round.

The New Patriotic Party is a member of the International Democrat Union.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *