New Democracy

Published 23rd April, 2012

New Democracy or ND was founded by Constantine Karamanlis in October 1974. It describes itself as centre-right and believes in Liberal Conservatism, Conservatism and Christian Democracy.

The conservative ND won an absolute majority in the November 1974 following the fall of the Colonels regime and held power until 1981 when it was decisively defeated by PASOK. Despite splits within its ranks ND polled sufficiently well to form a series of coalitions that lasted from 1989 until 1993 when it was heavily defeated by PASOK. This period included a grand coalition with PASOK and SYRIZA from 1989 to 1990.

In the 1996 and 2000 elections ND failed, despite expectations, to oust PASOK from power and it was not until the March 2004 election that they finally won convincingly with 47% of the vote and 165 seats. An early election was called in 2007 and the ND fell back to 152 seats (45.4%). In the October 2009 elections the ND government of Kostas Karamanlis gained 33.48% of the vote and 91 seats and was defeated by PASOK

New Democracy is a member of the Centrist Democrat International and the International Democrat Union. The party holds seven of the 22 national seats in the European parliament and is a member of the European People’s Party.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *