Patriotic Party

Published 16th August, 2011

The Patriotic Party or PP was founded in 2000 by supporters General Otto Pérez Molina who was on the reformist wing of the military. The PP was legally registered in 2002.

In its first set of elections in 2003 the PP stood as part of the Grand National Alliance which took 49 of 158 seats in Congress. The GANA candidate, Óscar José Rafael Berger Perdomo won 34.3% of the vote in the first round and then won the second round of the presidential election with 54.1%.

Ijn the 2007 ballot, the Patriotic Party stood alone and its presidential candidate, Otto Pérez Molina, came second with 47.18% of the vote. The PP took 30 seats in the 158 seat parliament.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *