National Union

Published 2nd January, 2013

The National Union or HaIhud HaLeumi was founded in 1996 as a coalition of Moledet, Tkuma and Herut. Today the party is representative of four parties, Moledet, Hatikva, Eretz Yisrael Shelanu, and Tkuma. It describes itself as Far-right and believes in a mixed economy, Fiscal Conservatism, Religious Zionism, Nationalism and a Greater Israel.

In the 1999 general election the party won four seats. In 2001 the party entered into an alliance with Yisrael Beiteinu which also had four seats in the 120 seat Knesset, but after the election their joint representation dropped by one seat to seven seats. Nevertheless the National Union became part of the 2001 National Unity Government of Ariel Sharon

In 2003 the party won seven seats, but without Herut and continued in government under Ariel Sharon, but the party disagreed with the government’s unilateral disengagement plan of 2004 and eventually left the coalition.

By 2005 the National Union brought in the Renewed Religious National Zionist Party, but a year later the Yisrael Beiteinu had left the coalition. Immediately prior to the 2006 general election the National Union was joined by the National Religious Party and they combined lists for the election of that year; the result was a total of nine seats in the 120 seat Knesset, of which the National Union won six seats.

In 2009, after a brief flirtation with Jewish Home, the National Union stood in the general election and won four seats.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *