Lesotho Congress for Democracy

Published 17th May, 2012

The Lesotho Congress for Democracy or LCD was founded in 1997 by the then prime minister, Ntsu Mokhehle after he had resigned from the Basotho Congress Party (BCP). He was subsequently joined by 37 other sitting members of the BCP. The party describes itself as left wing and believes in pan-Africanism.

The LCD became the party of government until new elections were held in May 1998. In February 1998 Mokhehle was replaced as party leader by Pakalitha Mosisili who led the the LCD to victory in the 1998 election, taking 79 of the 80 seats in the National Assembly.

In May 2002 the party won 77 of the 120 seats in an enlarged National Assembly which introduced proportional representation to an additional 40 seats to give other parties a chance of representation.

Prior to the 2002 election there had been divisions within the party and a number of members left to form the All Basotho Convention (ABC).

In 2007 the party narrowly held on to its majority, winning 61 of the 120 seats in parliament.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *