Liberal Movement

Published 11th September, 2012

The Liberal Movement, formally known as the Liberals’ Movement of the Republic of Lithuania or LRLS was founded in 2006 by members of the Liberal and Centre Union (LiCS) who disagreed with the LiCS leadership. The party describes itself as centre-right and believes in Liberalism and Populism.

The party won 11 of the 141 seats in the Seimas in the 2008 general election and went on to join the four party coailition government led by the Homeland Union (TS-LKD).

The Liberal Movement is a member of the European Liberal Democrat and Reform Party and holds one of the 12 national seats in the European Parliament where it is a member of the Group of the Alliance of Liberals and Democrats for Europe.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *