Democratic Progressive Party

Published 5th June, 2014

The Democratic Progressive Party or DPP was founded in February 2005 by the then President Bingu wa Mutharika after a falling out with the United Democratic Front (UDF).

Bingu wa Mutharika, standing as a UDF candidate had won the 2004 presidential election with 35.9% of the vote and in 2009 was re-elected with 65.98% of the vote.

The DPP, standing for the first time in the 2009 general election, won 114 of the 193 seats in the National Assembly of Malawi.

In 2010 the President fell out with his Vice-President, Joyce Banda, and she was expelled from the party. Mrs Banda established a new party, the People’s Party, and after the death of the President in 2012 she became President with many DPP supporters crossing to the PP.

A corruption scandal called ‘Cashgate’ hit President Joyce band’s campaign hard in 2014 and as a result, along with a strong campaign, Peter Mutharika, the brother of Bingu wa Mutharika was elected President with 36.4% of the vote. The DPP managed to remain the largest party but with just 50 seats in the 192 seat National Assembly, leading to a hung parliament.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *