National Front

Published 15th April, 2013

The National Front or Barisan Nasional (BN) was established in 1973 as a coalition of parties and was the successor to the Alliance Party which had also been formed in 1957 as an alliance to fight elections with the coming of independence.

Although there are a number of political parties in the coalition the three founding parties are the United Malays National Organization (UMNO), Malaysian Chinese Association (MCA) and Malaysian Indian Congress (MIC).

The coalition believes in Nationalism, Conservatism and Bumiputera (Pro Malay race – literally means ‘son of the land’). It has formed the government of Malaysia since independence in 1957, although in the 2008 general election, for the first time its majority dipped below the two thirds mark.

We have completed more detailed desciptions of the three main parties separately, but the full list of known political parties in the coalition is as follows:

• United Malays National Organization (UMNO)
• Malaysian Chinese Association (MCA)
• Malaysian Indian Congress (MIC)
• Malaysian People’s Movement Party (GERAKAN) –
• People’s Progressive Party (PPP) –
• Parti Pesaka Bumiputera Bersatu (PBB)
• Sarawak United People’s Party (SUPP) –
• Parti Bersatu Sabah (PBS) –
• Liberal Democratic Party (LDP) –
• Parti Bersatu Rakyat Sabah (PBRS)
• United Pasokmomogun Kadazandusun Murut Organisation (UPKO)
• Sarawak Progressive Democratic Party (SPDP)
• Sarawak People’s Party (PRS).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *