People’s Pact

Published 15th April, 2013

The People’s Pact, also known as the People’s Front or PR was founded on 1st April 2008 soon after the general election. The People’s Pact was the successor to the earlier Alternative Front (Barisan Alternatif; BA) which was founded in 1998 and which lasted until 2004. The People’s Pact is a coalition of parties which have traditionally been in opposition to UMNO and the National Front or Barisan Nasional (BN). It includes the People’s Justice Party (PKR), Democratic Action Party (DAP), and Pan-Malaysian Islamic Party (PAS). These three parties are covered in more detail separately.

The three parties had worked together prior to the 12th General election in order to gain more seats in the House of Representatives and to try and take some state assemblies. They were successful in denying the BN their traditional two thirds majority and won 82 of the 222 seats in the House of Representatives. They also managed to win five of the thirteen state assemblies; Kelantan, Kedah, Penang, Perak and Selangor.

On 20th April 2010 the three parties were joined by a fourth party, the Sarawak National Party (SNAP) which had previously been part of the BN.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *