Dhivehi Rayyithunge Party

Published 7th August, 2013

The Dhivehi Rayyithunge Party or DRP also known as the Maldivian Peoples Party was founded in June 2005 by the then President of the Maldives, Maumoon Abdul Gayoom (He has since formed a new party, the Progressive Party of Maldives, PPM) .

In the first multi-candidate presidential election of 10th and 29th October 2008 Gayoom was defeated by Mohamed Nasheed who won with 53.65% of the vote. President Gayoom had been in power from 1978 until 2008.

In the first multi-party parliamentary elections held on 9th May 2009 the DRP won 28 of the 77 seats in the Majlis and was the largest party.

The party is currently led by Ahmed Thasmeen Ali.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *