Patriotic Movement for Renewal

Published 28th February, 2012

The Patriotic Movement for Renewal or MPR was founded in 1995 by Choguel Maiga Kokalla and others. The party claims the legacy of the Moussa Traoré regime which ran from 1961 until 1991.

The party decided to boycott the July 1997 general election along with a number of other opposition groups, but Choguel Maiga Kokalla stood and took 1.8% of the vote.

In the 2002 election Kokalla stood again and took 2.7% of the vote. In the general election the party decided to join Hope 2002 (Espoir 2002) alliance and they won five of the 160 seats in the National Assembly.

In 2007 the MPR decided to join the president’s Alliance for Democracy and Progress (ADP) and won eight seats. They have been in government as part of the two alliances since 2002.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *