Republican Party for Democracy and Renewal

Published 21st October, 2011

The Republican Party for Democracy and Renewal or PRDR was formerly known as the Democratic and Social Republican Party (PRDS) which was founded in 1991 as a centre left party supporting Maaouya Ould Sid’Ahmed Taya.

Prior to 1991 the Mauritanian People’s Party (PPM) had been the sole legal party in Mauritania from 1961 until 1978 when a military council took over. In 1984 Taya headed that council and became president but in 1991 a new constitution was approved and the PRDS was founded.

In the 1992 general election, the incumbent President Taya was elected with 62.7% of the vote and the PRDS won 67 of the 79 seats in the National Assembly. In 1996 they won again, taking 70 of 79 seats and in 2001 they took 64 of 81 seats.

In 1997 Taya won the presidential election with 91.0% of the vote and again in 2033 with 67.0% of the vote. But in 2005 President Taya was deposed and the former PRDS renamed itself the Republican Party for Democracy and Renewal (PRDR) distanced itself from Taya and denounced his policies.

In the 2006 general election the PRDR won seven of the 95 seats in the National Assembly. They did not compete in the 2007 or 2009 presidential elections but, as of 2008, have become part of the Mithaq el Wihda coalition led by Sidi Mohamed Ould Vall.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *