Union for the Republic

Published 24th June, 2014

The Union for the Republic or UPR was founded in 2009 by the leader of the 2008 coup d’état, General Mohamed Ould Abdel Aziz.

Aziz resigned as Chairman of the party on 2nd August 2009 after winning the Presidential election with 52.58% of the vote but the party remains as his political vehicle.

The UPR won 13 of the 17 seats up for re-election in the 56 seat Senate in 2009. In 2011 the UPR assembled the ruling Coalition of the Majority and gained a majority in both houses. Sixty members crossed over to the UPR in the 95 seat National Assembly in 2011.

In 2013 the party won 75 of the 146 seats in the National Assembly to give it an overall majority in the lower house. In 2014 President Mohamed Ould Abdel Aziz was re-elected with 81.89% of the vote although the election was boycotted by a large part of the opposition and civil society.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *