Port Louis

The President and Vice President are elected by the National Assembly for five-year terms and are eligible to stand for a second term. 

Unicameral.  The National Assembly has 70 members of which 62 are elected by popular vote and 8 are appointed by the election commission to give representation to various ethnic minorities.  They serve five-year terms.

The Transparency International Corruption Perceptions Index (CPI) 2016 places Mauritius at joint 50th out of 176 countries with a CPI 2016 score of 54 (where 100 is least corrupt).