Democratic Party

Published 26th June, 2012

The Democratic Party or DP was originally founded in 1990 following the fall of communism. The current party, however, is an amalgam of a number of parties including the Mongolian National Democratic Party (MNDP), Mongolian National Progressive Party, Mongolian Social Democratic Party (MSDP), Mongolian Democratic Party (MDP), Mongolian Democratic Renewal Party (MDRP) and Mongolian Believers’ Democratic Party (MBDP) who came together in 2000. The Democratic Party describes itself as centre-right and believes in Liberalism, Economic liberalism, Conservative liberalism and Libertarianism.

In the election of 2000 the individual parties had failed to make any impact and the ex-communists swept to power with 72 of the 76 seats in the State Great Hural.

This led the individual parties to come together and in 2004 the Democratic Party joined forces with the Motherland Party (Erel) and the Civic Will Party in the Motherland Democratic Coalition. Collectively they took 35 of the 76 seats in the State Great Hural and after the election agreed to form a coalition government with the Mongolian People’s Revolutionary Party (MPRP)

In 2008 the Democratic Party stood alone and won 27 of the 76 seats in the State great Hural. However, following the election there was widespread criticism and accusations of vote rigging by the MPRP. As a result there were riots and the MPRP headquarters were burned out. Subsequently the MPRP did a deal with the DP to establish a coalition government.

In early January 2012 the DP decided to withdraw from the coalition in order to prepare for the general election planned for later in the year.

The Democratic Party is a full member of the International Democrat Union (IDU).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *