Political Parties in Myanmar (Burma)

Published 19th March, 2011

Below is a list of known political parties in Myanmar. This is a preliminary list and will be followed with a more detailed history of the parties.

Major Parties

Union Solidarity and Development Party (USDP)

National Unity Party (NUP)

National Democratic Force (NDF)

Shan Nationalities League Democratic Party (SNLD)

Minor Parties

Rakhine Nationalities Development Party (RNDP)

All Mon Regions Democratic Party

Democratic Party (Myanmar)

Kayin People’s Party  (KKP)

Shan Nationalities Democratic Party

Chin National Party

Peace and Diversity Party (PDP)

New Era People’s Party

Wonthanu NLD (The Union of Myanmar)

88 Generation Student Youths (Union of Myanmar)

Union of Myanmar Federation of National Politics

Democracy and Peace Party

National Political Alliance

Pa-O National Organisation (PNO)

Union Democratic Party

Taaung (Palaung) National Party

Wa Democratic Party

Khami National Solidarity Organization (MKNSO)

Lahu National Development Partys

Phalon-Sawaw Democratic Party

Chin Progressive Party

Kayan National Party

The Inn Nationalities Development Party

Kokang Democracy and Unity Party

Ethnic National Development Party (ENDP)

Kayin State Democracy and Development Party

Sources: The Irrawaddy Burma Election 2010:; Praline; Wiki

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *