Rally for Democracy and Progress

Published 14th November, 2014

The Rally for Democracy and Progress or RDP was formed by two former SWAPO Cabinet Ministers in November 2007. The party describes itself as Centre-left.

In the 2009 election the RDP was expected to be the best chance of overturning the SWAPO dominance in parliament, but in the end won just eight of the 72 seats in the National Assembly. However, they did well in the 2010 regional and local elections when they won 48 of 327 seats.

In 2010 the RDP merged with the Republican Party (RP), although the RP is still down as a political party on the Electoral Commission’s lists. The Republican Party won one seat in the 2009 election.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *