Political Parties in Nauru

Published 19th March, 2011

The Nauru Government website states that “Nauru does not have a political party system, so all members of Parliament are effectively independent members. Whilst it is usual for members to form groups, the absence of party discipline means that such groups have often been fluid and subject to change during the term of a Parliament”.

There are nominally three parties which have existed in past times but which play little role as political parties in the formal sense. They are:

Democratic Party of Nauru

Nauru First Party (Naoero Amo)

Centre Party.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *