Constitutional Liberal Party

Published 14th October, 2011

The Constitutional Liberal Party or PLC was founded in 1968 but can trace their history back to the Liberal Party which goes back to the 1830s.

The original party held power in the early 1900s and again in the 1920s and 1930s. After that they remained out of power during the periods of the Somoza and Sandinista regimes. During this period the old party had split up into a number of factions. Some of those factions supported the National Opposition Union in their successful election bid in 1990.

In 1994 the PLC created a new coalition they called the Liberal Alliance (AL). In 1996 they supported the presidential candidacy of their leader Arnaldo Alemán who was successful, taking 50.99% of the vote. The alliance also did well, taking 42 of the 93 seats in the National Assembly.

Prior to the 2001 election the Liberal Alliance was dissolved and the PLC decided to fight the elections under its own name. Their decision was successful, their presidential candidate, Enrique Bolaños, won with 53.6% of the vote and the party took 49 of the 92 seats in the National Assembly.

In 2006, following a number of internal disputes, the divided party lost the election to the Sandinistas. They did retain 25 of the 92 seats in the National Assembly.

The party is a past member of Liberal International and remains a member of the Central American parliament.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *