Centre Party

Published 22nd August, 2013

The Centre Party or Senterpartiet (Sp) was founded in 1920 as the Agrarian Party (sometimes called the Farmer’s Party) with the aim of gaining greater influence for farmers and rural communities. By 1931 the close ties with farmers’ trade organisations had ended and in 1959 the party changed its name to the Centre Party, although it was briefly known as the Norwegian Democratic Party — Democrats. The party describes itself as Centrist and believes in Agrarianism, Social conservatism, Euroscepticism and Traditionalism.

Between 1931 and 1933 the party formed a minority government despite having just 25 seats in the 150 seat Storting.

Prior to 2000 the party had been a member of seven non-socialist governments. But in 2005 they became part of the Red-Green Coalition with the Labour Party and others and have remained in the coalition to the present day.

The greatest electoral success for the party was in 1993 when they took 32 of the 165 seats in the Storting, partly as a result of their strongly anti-European Union stance. In the following elections they were unable to build on this success and in the last four elections have not exceeded 11 seats.

Their current leader is Liv Signe Navarsete.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *