Conservative Party

Published 22nd August, 2013

The Conservative Party or Høyre (H) was founded in 1884. It describes itself as Centre-right and believes in Conservatism, Liberal conservatism and Pro-Europeanism.

In its early years the Conservative Party was especially successful, participating in a number of non-socialist coalition governments. In 1891 the party won 49.2% of the vote and for the next thirty or so years regularly exceeded 40% of the vote.

Prior to World War Two the party dropped to around 20% of the vote and since then has fluctuated between 20% and 30% of the vote for much of the time. In 1997 for the first time the Conservative Party was overtaken by the Progress Party to become the second largest party with the Conservatives winning just 14.3% of the vote and 23 seats in the 165 seat Storting.

Although they regained their second position in 2001 by taking 21.2% of the vote and 38 seats, they dropped back into third place again in 2005 and 2009, taking just 23 and 30 seats respectively.

In recent times the Conservative Party has formed coalition governments with the Christian People’s Party, notably in 2001. Overall it has been in government six times between 1950 and the present day.

The current party leader is Erna Solberg.

The Conservative Party is a member of the International Democrat Union (IDU) and an associate member of the European People’s Party (EPP).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *