National Unity

Published 25th March, 2011

The National Unity was founded in 2000 by Lourdes Flores Nano and describes itself as a Christian Democratic party.  It is the third largest party in Congress and is a loose alliance of the Christian People’s Party (PPC) and National Solidarity (SN).

In the 2001 presidential election Flores came third with 24.3% of the vote.  In the general election the party took 13.8% of the vote and 17 seats in the 120 seat Congress.

In 2006 the alliance also included National Renewal (RN) and Radical Change (CR).  This time Flores took 23.8% of the vote and came third once more.  In the general election the National Unity took 15.3% of the vote but still only took 17 seats in Congress.

National Solidarity’s leader Luis Castañeda stood for Mayor of Lima in 2002 under the National Unity banner and was successful.  He won again in 2006.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *